霞女之旅

Xia's Journey

Climbing Mt Fuji (1) From Sg to Tokyo

on June 13, 2019

Date of Exploration : 17 Aug – 20 Aug 2018

Having done quite a number of sunrises over the years, mainly in ASEAN countries such as Mt Kinabalu, Myanmar and Thailand, I decided to move out of the comfort zone and scale Mt Fuji in Japan after a colleague kept raving about it.

As Mt Fuji is only scalable during the 3 months of summer; namely July, Aug and Sept, many would travel far and wide to Japan to do the climb. My research recommended that I avoid the early and late part of the summer as there will still be snow then as well as the China golden week to avoid the massive crowds.

Booking my air ticket with only three months leading to my maiden trip to Japan, all the ticket prices that I scoured were as high as Mt Fuji! Hence, I didn’t have much choice but to settle for Phillipine Airlines at a hefty SG$800+ !

As I rattle on and on, I have decided to break down my experience into various segments so that one will not get concussed from reading the posts. Haahaa… ;”D

(1) From Singapore to Tokyo (In the post below)

(2) From Tokyo to Mt Fuji

(3) Day 1 Ascend

(4) Day 1 Accommodation atop Mt Fuji

(5) Day 2 Summit Climb

(6) Day 2 Descend

(7) Sentiments and tips

Departing for Japan – From Singapore to Tokyo

On 16 August 2019, Thursday evening (one day prior to my 17 Aug, Fri evening departure), Xiamen airlines skidded on the runway at Manila Airport and all flights in and out of Manila Airport were disrupted, cancelled and re-scheduled. 

I had simply no idea of all that had happened until I arrived at the airport at 10pm for my 12mn flight only to receive news of the runway incident that happened 24 hours prior.

I was like – Omg… Seriously??!! My “adventure” has started even before I departed! Haahaa… I don’t know whether to laugh or cry at my fortune / misfortune. Whatever it is, I guess things happen for a reason. (I strongly believed it was trying to prevent me from going to the ‘Suicide Forest’ lest I do not make it back alive!)

I was stranded at Singapore Changi Airport from 10pm till 4am when the plane finally departed.

Upon arriving at Manila airport, I was again stranded at Manila airport from 8am till 3pm.

The flight departed at 315pm and I finally arrived Tokyo at 9pm…!!

As I was slated to arrive Tokyo in the early afternoon, I had planned to travel to my accommodation at the foot of Mt Fuji. But alas, when I arrived at 9pm and considering that it would take me another couple of hours to travel from Tokyo to Mt Fuji, my plans were thwarted and I had to re-book another accommodation (Do C Ebisu) to stay in Tokyo for the night instead.

  • ((Pic taken on the next morning))

3 responses to “Climbing Mt Fuji (1) From Sg to Tokyo

  1. xiaoming says:

    So brave to go alone do a trip

  2. […] the day of departure, my flight from SG to Manila was delayed for 4 hrs from 12mn to 4am. The second leg from Manila to […]

Leave a comment